Why I Don’t Click on Your Links,

And why nobody clicks on mine?

Stephen Sovie
2 min read16 hours ago

--

Photo by henry perks on Unsplash

Please Click On The Following Link.

We have all seen this or similar prompts in the Medium stories we read and on other sites we visit. But how many of us actually click on the prompt?

If you’re like me, you ignore it. With the numerous phishing scams exploding on the internet, we all have to be highly vigilant. Unless we know exactly what clicking on a link will lead us to, we should ignore it.

Many writers here on Medium have a website, blog, newsletter, or Substack account we are hoping to promote, and we place a link at the bottom of our article, urging the reader to click to subscribe. You will see my subscription link below this article.

Most readers don’t click on these links because they are unsure where the link will take them or don’t want to receive any more emails in their inbox.

Promoting a blog or newsletter can be a real challenge, but using a promotion link on our stories is one of the best ways to get the word out. I’ve recently started my own newsletter and am now using the promotion link. It’s not easy to get readers to click on my link. I know others share the same feeling.

--

--

Stephen Sovie

A liberal retiree who loves writing about politics, social issues, my pets and my life experiences. You can buy me coffee here, https://ko-fi.com/stephensovie